List your 728x90 banner here

iGaming Idol doubled in size and sets a new standard for Industry award events

NetEnt take home most awards whilst Mr Green and Jackpot Joy follow. Robin Ramm Ericson & Gustaf Hagman of Leo Vegas win Outstanding Contribution to the Industry.


The much-awaited second annual iGaming Idol gala awards dinner lit up the Industry with a full capacity attendance of 430 iGaming executives, employees, friends and 18 new ‘Idols of the Year’.

The event, which doubled in its attendance figures when compared to the 2016 edition, was held in the prestigious Grand Master Suite at the Hilton Hotel in St Julian’s, Malta.

Distinguished guests were welcomed to the black-tie event with red-carpet treatment and champagne on arrival, before being hosted to a three-course dinner and a night of glitz and glamour by industry personalities Michael Caselli, Editor in Chief of iGaming Business, and Rebecca Liggero from Calvin Ayre.

Michael Pedersen, CEO of iGaming idol, welcomed the guests, finalists and sponsors by thanking them for their support, whilst he reiterated that those attending were supporting the Industry and the local community in a major way.

Mr Pedersen said: “iGaming Idol is all about the recognition of individuals and giving employees within the industry their due importance. Supporting charity and giving back to the community is another pillar of iGaming Idol and we are thrilled to donate more than €12,000 to the Malta Community Chest Fund this year.


Special guest, the Hon Silvio Schembri, Paliamentary Secretary for Financial Services, Digital Economy and Innovation, delivered the opening speech by praising the organisers for their innovative concept in recognising the talent behind the industry’s success.

He congratulated all the finalists, noting that it was encouraging to see a good number of Maltese nationals had made the list in several categories. Hon Schembri also announced that Government was taking measures to facilitate work permits and visas to attract more foreign talent.

The attendees were entertained throughout the evening with live music, and the hosts were on spectacular form.


The ceremony can be viewed here


The evening culminated in the awards ceremony and 16 winners taking home the title of ‘Idol of the Year’ within their respective categories. The finalists were put through a rigorous process including being interviewed by expert judges from the same category.

In addition to the 16 Idols, prestigious awards were given out to Robin Ramm Ericson and Gustaf Hagman of Leo Vegas for winning ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Industry’ as well as Catena Media for taking home ‘Employer of the Year’.  The iGaming Idol Awards are fully audited by BDO Malta, an affiliate organisation of BDO International.


The winners were:


Category Winner Company
Affiliate Manager Idol of the Year Laura O Brien Mr Green
Business Intelligence Idol of the Year Andrew Galea NetRefer
Casino Product Idol of the Year Alan Brincat Quasar Gaming
Compliance and Regulated Markets Idol of the Year Ewout Wierda Videoslots
Customer Service Idol of the Year Viktor Mardberg Jackpot Joy
Design & User Experience Idol of the Year Martin McDonald Join Games
Fraud & Risk Idol of the Year Daniel Buttitieg APCO Pay
HR Idol of the Year Roberta Geres Mr Green
Live Casino Dealer Idol of the Year Joscelyn James Sims NetEnt
Manager Idol of the Year Lahcene Merzoug Evoke
SEO/SEM Idol of the Year Sean Bianco Quasar Gaming
Sports Product Idol of the Year Tamara Caligari Tipico
Recruitment Idol of the Year Jakob Wallof NetEnt
Tech Back-end Idol of the Year Anthony Sammut NetEnt
Tech Front-end Idol of the Year Kurt Aquilina Play N Go
VIP Manager Idol of the Year Steve DeGiorgio Jackpot Joy
Outstanding Contribution to the Industry Robin Ramm Ericson & Gustaf Hagman Leo Vegas
Employer of the Year Catena Media

The post iGaming Idol doubled in size and sets a new standard for Industry award events appeared first on Eastern European Gaming – News – Interviews – Legal Market Updates – Premium Reports – Events – Directory.

Source: EEGaming.